What is OM WOD?

OM := Om is a sacred sound, a spiritual icon, and a mantra in Hinduism, Buddhism and Jainism. It refers to Atman (soul, self within) and Brahman (ultimate reality, entirety of the universe, truth, divine, supreme spirit, cosmic principles, knowledge)

WOD :=  The CrossFit term for “workout of the the day” which has become (for me) a mantra in itself. WODs are undoubtedly the hardest part of my physical day. It challenges me to be physically better, faster, and stronger which translates into discipline, confidence, and fearlessness in all aspects of life.

Together, OM WOD is my mantra for life; of the inner self and the physical being.

On the more applicable and pragmatic side…

OM WOD refers to my passion and goal of marrying Yoga and CrossFit because they so naturally benefit the other. A good friend of mine and local CrossFit coach sent me a link that talked about CrossFit’s standards for “fitness” (CrossFit Journal, Oct 2002, p.4).  The list surprised me.  Did you know these ten dimensions?

  1. Cardiovascular/respiratory endurance
  2. Stamina
  3. Strength
  4. Flexibility
  5. Power
  6. Speed
  7. Coordination
  8. Agility
  9. Balance
  10. Accuracy

It surprised me to see that Yoga directly impacts seven of the 10 dimensions (respiratory endurance, strength, flexibility, coordination, agility, balance and accuracy), and plays a critical supportive role for the remaining three (stamina, power, and speed). It’s no wonder why so many CrossFit (and other) athletes have turned to yoga to maximize performance, enhance recovery and prevent injury.

Given the elongation and relaxation associated with the practice of yoga, it’s important to introduce it at the right time in your routine. I found a great article about this in Sweat RX Magazine which basically recommended yoga on your active rest days, and NOT before a workout.  This is because your muscles will be so stretched out that you will not be able to maximize power or strength performance immediately after yoga. Personally, I think a quick, targeted  30-minute yoga session immediately after a WOD can be tremendously helpful since you are more than sufficiently “warmed up” (understatement of the year). You would also know from your WOD the areas of your body that felt particularly icky (technical term), tight or sore.

Something to think about.  Next installments will include dynamic vs. static stretching, when to massage vs. stretch, good pain vs. bad pain, and much more.  There’s so much material!

Disclaimer: Before I get ahead of myself, you should know that while I’ve been practicing yoga for more than a decade, I am BRAND NEW to CrossFit. Like, one-month-in-can’t-squat-to-save-my-life new. I still think burpees are a form of corporal punishments and I’m pretty certain I wasn’t born with the synapses required to do a strict pull up. These posts are just the musings of your average girl with a yoga addiction who decided to see just how healthy/athletic/strong she can be. This is in part why I wanted to document and share my experiences on this daunting but exciting journey. I went to a free class at CrossFit Praxis and was instantly hooked.  Signed up for membership that same day, and my life hasn’t been the same since. A month later and I’ve learned a whole new vocabulary. I’m saying things like AMRAP, Metcon, cleans, jerks, snatches, oh my! Suddenly, it’s not a gym, it’s a box! I don’t do exercises, I do a WOD! Game over.

Leave a comment